The Contemplative New Testament: Luke 1

As a PhD candidate in Christian Origins, I spend a lot of my time in the Bible. What this means is that if you would trust a first year med student to operate on your brain, you will feel comfortable using these for your devotional life.  I have translated the texts with two main angles always in mind:  God’s Kingdom and Christian Spirituality.  I trust you will find these new paraphrases enlightening as you live out God’s counter-intuitive ways on earth as it is in heaven.
 

Luke 1.39-45

Then Mariam, filled with hope from Gabriel’s words, eagerly left for the hill country, into a city of Judea.  She went to the house of Zachariah.

And when she drew near, she greeted Elizabeth.  And it happened that as Elisabeth began hearing Mary’s greeting, the baby kicked hard in her womb.  And Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit.

And she shouted back two spontaneous things: “blessed are you among women,” and “the fruit of your womb is blessed.”

“How is this happening to me?”, Elizabeth went on to say, “How is it that the mother of my Lord should come to me?  For here is a sign: as the sound of your greeting reached my ears, the baby kicked hard with great joy in my womb.

“Blessed is the one (you Mariam) who believed God’s words to her would come true.”

2 thoughts on “The Contemplative New Testament: Luke 1”

Comments are closed.