The Contemplative New Testament: Luke 1

As a PhD candidate in Christian Origins, I spend a lot of my time in the Bible. What this means is that if you would trust a first year med student to operate on your brain, you will feel comfortable using these for your devotional life.  I have translated the texts with two main angles always in mind:  God’s Kingdom and Christian Spirituality.  I trust you will find these new paraphrases enlightening as you live out God’s counter-intuitive ways on earth as it is in heaven.
 

Luke 1.1-4

Most excellent Theophilus, lover of God,

It seemed it was time to write to you.  Having myself investigated everything clearly and for a long time, I have written an accurate account in sequence.  I have devoted my work and words here with a particular goal in mind: so that you might know the certainty about the matters reported to you by word of mouth.  And I have compiled this account since many have put their hands to the task to write down an account about the matters that were fulfilled among us.  Their accounts were recorded just as the eyewitnesses and those who became servants of the Word told it to us.

