Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.
 

Ephesians 6.10-20

Finally, be empowered in the Lord.  And by his strong power, put on the full armor of God.  Do this so that you can stand fast against the deceitful schemes of the devil.  Realize this: you don’t struggle against blood and flesh.  You struggle against rulers and powers. You struggle against the cosmic lords of this darkness, against the spirit of evil.  You struggle against all the powers that reside in the skies.

Because of this, put on the whole virtuous defense of God. Do this so that you can be a steadfast oak on a day when evil comes.   And after all is said and done you will be standing.

Therefore stand firm by wrapping your waist in truth, putting on the breastplate of righteousness, and lacing your feet and ankles with readiness of the gospel of peace.  With all these things, take along the shield of faith with which you are able to withstand and freeze up all the devil’s flaming snipershots.  And wield the hilt of the sword of faith and the dagger of the spirit, which is the word of God.

Do you want to know how to wield these weapons?  Pray at every good time, in the spirit, and with prayers and requests.   And as you pray, keep attuned to all the saints in your prayers and requests, and pray for me.

Pray that whenever I open my mouth in boldness a word might be given to me.  It is my goal to make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains.  Pray that I might be bold in it when it is necessary for me to speak up.

