Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.
 

Ephesians 6.1-9

Children, give heed to your parents in the Lord.  For this is right.  “Honor your father and mother.”  This is the first command wrapped in a promise:  do it so it will be well with you, and so that you will be on the land a long time.

Fathers don’t cause your children to turn wrathful.  But raise them in the teaching and correction of the Lord.

Slaves.  I have a lot to say to you.  Give heed to your earthly Lords.  Do it in fear and trembling, with appreciation in your heart as to Christ.  Don’t try to impress them like people pleasers would do.   Work as if you are impressing Christ.  When you listen to your earthly Lords, you are doing the will of God from your spirit.  Listen to them with eagerness, serving the Lord, and not men.  And when you give heed to your earthly Lords, know that whoever does good, each will be rewarded whether slave or free.

Lords. Treat your slaves just like I told them to treat you. And while you go about loosening your threats, know also that your Lord and their Lord is in heaven.  And there is no favoritism with him.

