Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

Ephesians 4.1-8

As a prisoner of the Lord, I encourage you to tromp around worthy of the calling from which you have been called.   Be extraordinarily gentle and humble.  Be slow to blow up, having patience with one another in love.  Find ways to honor the unity of the spirit in the bonds of peace.

There is one body and one spirit.  So rightly, you were called with one hope in your calling, one Lord, one faith, one baptism, one God who is also the father of all.  He is above everything, permeating through everything, and in everything.

And, grace was given in each one of you according to the measure of Christ’s gift.   Therefore, it is said:  When he rose into the sky, he arrested the captives.  He gave gifts to his people.

