Spirituality of the Mundane

In the spiritual life we are prone to sensation.  We love a great story. Yet, we so often loose sight of the ordinary.  For that is where God loves to work the most.  It is a tortoise and the hare thing, I guess.  And in the process of using our spiritual imaginations, we loose sight of our limits. We are often unsure how the Lord uses our imaginations and how our imaginations use the Lord.

I came across this passage today on the spirituality of the mundane.  From Adrian van Kaam, “On Being Involved.”

On the way toward living a spiritual life, I become aware of the relevance of really being with whatever I am doing. To be whole-heartedly with people, nature, and my task fosters spiritual growth.  Not to be there means that I may grow less or not at all.  If I am serenely committed to the task God gives me to do or to the person He allows me to meet, it matters little what engages me.  Even the simplest task assumes a new dimension, a deeper significance. Regardless of its simplicity, each event becomes an encounter with reality, with all being, with the Lord  himself…

At the moment I am no longer simply and wholly with and in the situation, I become split, tense, and broken up.  This is true not only of decisive events, which may fill only a small part of my life, but even more of the innumerable simple, seemingly insignificant actions and meetings that make up most of my days.  The secret of growth, the source of peace, the hidden source of spiritual living entails being dedicated to the humble events which bind my days together.

