Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

 

Ephesians 3. 14-20

For this reason, I bow my knees to the Father from whom all tribes are named in the heavens and on earth.  I am on my knees before the father so that he might give strength to you in your inner places out of the riches of his glorious power through his sprit.  I want Him to send Christ to dwell in your hearts, which are to be rooted in love and built with a strong foundation.   I bow my knees for all this so that you might be– with all the saints– fully able to discover the width, and length, and height, and depth and to know the surpassing love of his knowledge. I bow my knees for all this so that you might be filled in all the fullness of God, and filled by the power above all to do exceedingly more than we ask or imagine according to the power that is at work in you.

Glory be to Him in the church in Christ Jesus in all generations for ever and ever. Amen.

