Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

 

Ephesians 3. 8-13

This grace was given to me, the least important one, by all the saints to preach the  unfathomable riches of God to the gentiles.  Also, the plan was given to me to shed light on everything to some.  About this plan, it is the mystery, which has been concealed from all ages in God to all creation.   It was given to me so that the many sided wisdom of God might be made known now. It is the church’s job to make it plain to the rulers and powers of the heavens according to the proposal of the ages, which he accomplished in Christi Jesus our Lord.  In Christ Jesus we have the courage and access in what was entrusted through his faithfulness.  Therefore, I ask you not to be discouraged in my distress for you.  It is your glory.

