Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

 

Ephesians 3. 1-6

Because of this reality, I Paul am a prisoner of Christ Jesus for the sake of you gentiles.

If you only understood the plan of God’s grace, which has been given to me for you. For the mystery has been revealed to me by revelation.  Just as it was written before hand in part and in the mystery of Christ to those who were able, through reading it aloud, to understand my message.  This mystery was not known by the previous generations, the sons of men.  But now, by the Spirit, it was uncovered to his holy apostles and to the prophets.   The mystery is this: the gentiles are fellow heirs, equal members of the body, and shareholders of the promise in Christ Jesus through the gospel.  The gospel became a servant according to the gift of God’s grace, which has been given to me for to the working of his power.

 

