The Power of Appreciation When We Meet Our Limits

What is it about life that makes it so impossible sometimes to focus? I mean about priorities, relationships, perspective. Our ambitions and projects seem to steer us away so swiftly from deep inspirations, which flow from our hearts.  At every turn, we painfully meet our limitations.  The psalmist says, “Every person’s life is like a breath.”   We must not follow every rabbit trail idea, which flips through our heads nor struggle to answer every question that disturbs even our silent spaces.

And from time to time, we meet those rare moments when death stares us in the face and reminds us that he too will knock on our door.

Yet, on days when I loose sight of the end or on days when I stare in it face to face, I pull out appreciation.  When I squander my priorities and lock myself away from those seeking to give me their love, only one powerful tool remains: appreciation. Try it.  Give thanks with a grateful heart.  Appreciation is a pill to swallow that transforms disappointments into opportunities for growth. Appreciation gives light to our path when the darkness of drudgery casts its wintery shadow on our sunlit thirsty souls.  We cannot always muster the strength to appreciate this life.  But when we do, we pierce that force that forever seeks to blind us to our limitations and convince us that our life is more than a breath.

3 thoughts on “The Power of Appreciation When We Meet Our Limits”

  1. I like the simplicity of this blog. Our appreciation does not have to be determined by our success on any particular day. 🙂 Appreciating YOU! (especially since you are doing your own assessments!)

Comments are closed.