Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

 

Ephesians 1.15-23

Because of this, I also never stop giving thanks for you, since I heard about the way you believe in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints.  I remember you in my prayers, which go like this, “that God the glorious Father of our Lord Jesus Christ would:

“Give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation in his knowledge.  I pray that by giving you that spirit the eyes of your heart will have been opened.  And then you would know the hope of his calling, the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints, and the supreme greatness of his power for us who put their faith on the power of his mighty strength.  (About this strength that God worked in Christ: it raised Jesus from the dead. It sat him at his right hand in the highest heaven above all kings and powers and lords and all names.  He made him known not only in this age but also in the age to come. And by this power God put everything under Christ’s feet.  And by this power God gave him headship over all the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all things in every way.)”

 

