Saturdays Through Ephesians

For me and my family, Saturdays are for rest and the Word of God.  For a time, I am dwelling in Ephesians, so I thought I would invite you along.  What you will read is my translation, which like Eugene Peterson’s translation, reads more like a paraphrase than a literal interpretation.  So, with that in mind, here’s hoping that Saturdays through Ephesians gives us both rest in a restless age.

 

Ephesians 1.11-14

In the beloved one we have also been assigned and prepared for the master plan given from the one who works out all things according to the purpose of his will. We have been assigned in this way so that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might live for the praise of his glory.

In the beloved one, we have also heard the word of truth, which is the message of our salvation.

In the beloved one, through faithfulness you were marked with a seal by the promised Holy Spirit, who is a deposit of our inheritance for the redemption of those who are in God’s possession and to the praise of his glory.

