Advent Reflections from a Young Married Man: Marriage as Mission

“In the coming weeks, I will post seventeen short Advent reflections on the Song of Songs from a young man learning to be a lover and a husband, who at the same time struggles to plant his worth as the beloved Bride of Christ.  My guiding question:

How does the birth of God’s Son transform the broken projects of struggling lovers into aspirations for soul mating?

Click here to read the general introduction:

7B  Song of Songs 7.10-13                   Marriage as Mission

I am my beloved’s and his desire is for me.  11. Come, my beloved, let us go forth into the fields, and lodge in the villages; 12. Let us go out early to the vineyards, and see whether the vines have budded, whether the grape blossoms have opened and the pomegranates are in bloom.  There I will give you my love.  13. The mandrakes give forth fragrance, and over our doors are all choice fruits, new as well as old, which I have laid upon for you, O my beloved. Every couple longs for a holiday.  It is very natural.  A time together in a lodge or B&B seems the perfect retreat from a hectic life.  Yet, good soul mates know that too much isolation and too little mission makes for not enough meaning.

Mary and Joseph as they made their way to Egypt must have learned what couples like Priscilla and Aquila learned after them: a couple that follows God will often follow Him far and abroad.  The magic of soul bonding was created to be shared.  It turns sour if it is kept for the couple alone. And, when couples are willing to use their intimacy for the good of society, it often becomes a bonding experience like no other.

I hope the B&B world does not go bankrupt, and adventures in the village can serve a couple well.  Yet, the hearts of lovers must expect that a greater adventure awaits if they creatively open their bond up as a gift to a hurting world.

