The Poetry of Muir

John Muir has captured my imagination since my hiking friends introduced him a few years back. I just downloaded his entire works for free on Project Gutenberg and am walking around with them in my Kindle. Both, I would highly recommend.

Here are some more beautiful of his thoughts that I’ve read in these last few days:

From “Travels in Alaska”: On his sea journey to Alaska after spotting a herd of whales.

“But think of the hearts of these whales, beating warm against the sea, day and night, through dark and light, on and on for centuries; how the red blood must rush and gurgle in and out, bucketfulls barrelfulls at a beat!”

From “Travels in Alaska”: On his sea journey to Alaska

“The scenery of the ocean, however sublime in vast expanse, seems far less beautiful to us dry-shod animals than that of the land seen only in comparatively small patches; but when we contemplate the whole globe as one great dewdrop, striped and dotted with continents and islands, flying through space with other stars all singing and shining together as one, the whole universe appears as an infinite storm of beauty.”

